Entrance Exam Details

Name of Entrance Exam

Special Class Railway Apprentice

Category of Exam

Central Level Exam

About Exam

Special Class Railway Apprentice (SCRA) was a programme by which candidates are selected by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) India, to train in the undergraduate program in mechanical engineering at the Indian Railways Institute of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, Jamalpur. This programme started in 1927 and is one of the oldest in India.




Candidates should be a citizen of India. Apart from this, those who migrated to India from Tibet, Bhutan, Nepal, Vietnam, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Ethiopia, Zaire, Zambia, Malawi, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Kenya and Burma before Jan 01, 1962 with an intention of settling in India on permanent basis are also eligible for this exam.




In terms of age, candidates applying for the UPSC SCRA Exam 2019 should be from 17 to 21 years of age as calculated on 1st January 2019.

There is a relaxation of 5 years for SC and ST category candidates.

For OBC candidates, there will be a relaxation of 3 years.

There will be a relaxation of 5 years for ex-servicemen and military personnel

Education Qualification

With regard to educational qualification, candidates should have passed the intermediate examination from any recognized board with Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics.

Candidates should have scored at least 45% in the intermediate examination

Those, who have passed the first year of graduation (3 year degree course) with the second division, are also eligible for this exam.

Candidates, who have cleared Pre-Engineering with at least II division, can also appear at SCRA 2019 examination.

Exam pattern and syllabus

There will be multiple choice questions and candidates will be required to tick the right answer.

There will be negative marking in the exam, so candidates are advised not to answer a question in case they do not know its answer.

The exam will be conducted offline and candidates will be allowed to use black ball pen. Ballpoint pen is not allowed.

The examination will comprise two sections—written examination and physical science.

The written exam will be of 600 marks and the questions will be asked from English, Psychology and General knowledge. The second section will cover questions from Mathematics and Physical Science. This section will be of 200 marks.

The duration of these two papers will be 2 hours.

How to apply

Candidates, who will be appearing for SCRA exam, can obtain the application form from UPSC official website. SCRA online application form comprises of two stages i.e. Part I and Part II. You are required to complete the forms according to the instructions mentioned in the site through drop down menus.  You are also required to Rs. 100/- either by depositing the money in any branch SBI by cash, or by using net banking facility of State Bank of India, State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur / State Bank of Hyderabad / State Bank of Mysore/State Bank of Patiala/State Bank of Travancore or by using any Visa/Master Credit/Debit Card. (SC, ST, female students and physically handicapped students are exempted from payment of fee.) Before filling the online application form for SCRA make sure that your latest passport sized photograph and signature are duly scanned in jpeg (.jpeg) format.

Official Website & Contact Details: