News Listing

TMC sweeps Bengal bypolls, snatches Noapara from Congress, retains Uluberia

  February 01, 2018

The ruling Trinamool Congress today swept the two by-elections in West Bengal, snatching the Noapara Assembly seat from the Congress and retaining the Uluberia Lok Sabha seat.

TMC candidate Sajda Ahmed won the Uluberia Lok Sabha seat by a massive margin of 4.74 lakh votes. Ahmed got a total of 7,67,219 votes, while her nearest rival, BJP's Anupam Mallick garnered 2,93,018 votes, pushing the Communist Party of India (Marxist) to the third position in the seat.

The CPI (M) candidate got 1,38,792 votes while the Congress got a paltry 23,108 votes. There were 11,768 votes cast for Nota.

At Noapara too, it was smooth sailing for TMC candidate Sunil Singh who got more than 1 lakh votes winning by a mammoth margin of 63,018 votes. Once again, the BJP came in second with 38,711 votes.

The Congress party, which had won the seat during the last Assembly elections in 2016 has been reduced to the fourth place with just 10,527 votes. Interestingly, BJP with 38711 votes has taken the second spot replacing the CPI (M) which had 35,497 votes.